Sgro & Roger
What Are the Consequences of a DUI in Nevada?
Nevada’s drunk driving laws are some of the harshest in the country - anybody caught with a blood alcohol percentage of .08 or higher can expect an arrest and DUI charges. Not only do drivers face the loss of their license, but they can expect to pay fines and other costs totaling to several thousand dollars.
If you are convinced of a DUI for the first time, you can be sent to jail and ordered to perform 96 hours of community service. You could also be mandated to pay between $400 to $1,000 plus court costs.
You may lose your right to drive for 90 days and pay a civil penalty fee - the state also requires that you submit to a drunk driving course, which you will also have to pay for.
If your blood alcohol content was more than .18, you may receive a mandatory participation in alcohol treatment and a necessary Breath Interlock Device on your vehicle for 1-3 years.
These devices cost $85-100 to install & require a monthly rental fee of approximately $75-90 with monthly administration fees paid to Nevada.
Receiving a second DUI conviction may result in 10-180 days in jail or entrance into a residential treatment program. You will lose your driving privileges for one year and must pay fines to the court.
You may also submit to a long-term DUI school that you must pay for.
On your third offense, consequences worsen and you may receive.
A prison sentence between 1-6 years
Driver’s license suspension for three years
A fine between $2,000 and $5,000.
The consequences of a DUI are life-changing and severe; it is imperative to have the guidance of dedicated legal professionals to help you throughout the process. If you have been injured as a result of a drunk driver, call Sgro & Roger today for a free consultation. 702.384.9800