DUI? What You Need to Know and Why You Need a Lawyer
A DUI is no laughing matter. Drinking alcohol and then driving a vehicle has many terrible consequences. From a few nights in jail and $10,000 bill to killing or injuring yourself or someone else, the consequences for drivers under the influence are rightfully
harsh. The United States considers Driving Under the Influence a serious offense and penalizes those who commit the crime accordingly; the state of Nevada is no different. DUI charges apply to prescription and over-the-counter remedies especially when taking medication can seriously impact driving ability. No matter what substance is in your system, marijuana, alcohol or prescription drugs, you may receive a DUI conviction regardless of what’s in your system.
Let’s start with the facts:
1st Offense DUI:
· License revocation: 90 days.
· Victims Compensation Civil Penalty: $35.
· Ignition Interlock Device (installation and monthly monitoring).
· Driver's License Fee: $42.25.
· Testing Fee: $26.
· Reinstatement Fee: $121.
· SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance: Required 3 years.
You can be arrested even if your BAC is under .08%
First DUI conviction:
· Jail sentence of 2 days to 6 months OR 96 hours of community service.
· Fine of $400 to $1,000.
· Mandatory attendance at DUI school.
· Possible order to attend a substance-abuse treatment program.
· Drivers license revoked 90 days.
The Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limit in Nevada is:
.02% for all drivers under 21 years old
.04% for commercial license holders
.08% for anybody else.
Don’t take chances. Be safe, be smart and be aware of what you have in your system before you get behind the wheel.
If you or your loved ones are in this predicament, please call Sgro & Roger for your free consultation for legal representation at 702-384-9800. Drive safe.